The exterior of the iconic Louis Sullivan Bank of Newark has been beautifully restored to its original glory. Designed in 1914 by noted American Architect Louis Sullivan as one of eight “jewel box” banks, the building suffered through decades of neglect, vacancy, and unsympathetic alterations including the removal of the corner of the main entry and loss of many original terra cotta units. With its current owner, the Licking County Foundation, Rogers Krajnak Architects, Danis Construction, Conrad Schmitt Studios, and Lang Masonry, have painstakingly restored the exterior of the building. New terra cotta units were created and installed where the original terra cotta units were damaged or missing. The missing pieces of the intricate glass and gold mosaics were recreated, and the mosaics were cleaned. The original opalescent glass and zinc came windows were repaired, and new doors were created. The building is now illuminated at night and stands proudly on its prominent corner near the county courthouse. We celebrate the completion of the exterior renovation and look forward to the next phase of the project which will include the interior restoration of this magnificent building.